Krysthla—The minor mystery of death (official music video)

UK death metal band Krysthla are preparing for the release of their second album Peace In Our Time (2017) with the release of this video for “The minor mystery of death”, the opening track on the album.

The album is great. It’s out on Friday 7 April 2017.

To support the release they touring the UK throughout April to July. I’m planning on seeing them when they come to Scotland.

Krysthla UK tour dates 2017

  • 17 April—Peterborough, The Met
  • 21 April—Bolton, The Alma
  • 22 April—Warrington, The Brewhouse
  • 28 April—Cardiff, Fuel
  • 05 May—High Wycombe, Phoenix
  • 06 May—Worthing, Bar 42
  • 07 May—Bournemouth, The Anvil
  • 12 May—Inverness, Mad Hatters
  • 13 May—Dundee, Beat Generator
  • 14 May—Edinburgh, Bannermans
  • 26 May—Northampton, King Billy Rock Bar
  • 27 May—London, The Devonshire Arms
  • 28 May—Leicester, Uprising Aftermath @ The Firebug
  • 03 June—Kettering, The Prince
  • 24 June—Norwich, B2
  • 01 July—Milton Keynes, Craufurd Arms
  • 22 July—Gloucester, Amplified Festival

Mastodon—’Emperor of Sand’ released on Friday 31 March 2017

The new album Emperor of Sand (2017) from Atlanta, Georgia progressive metallers Mastodon is scheduled for release later this week (Friday 31 March).

So far they have released two tracks on Mastodon’s YouTube channel: “Andromeda” (above) and “Sultan’s Curse” (below).

So far, there hasn’t been a Mastodon album that I haven’t loved. So my hopes are up for this being another classic.

BONUS: Stone Sour—Creeping Death (2015)

So many good tracks have come out recently…

Another one from the recent Record Store Day, Stone Sour released a five track EP, Meanwhile In Burbank…, featuring this song “Creeping Death”, originally recorded by Metallica, from Ride the Lightning (1984).

It is reportedly going to be made available shortly as a digital download. Followed shortly by two more five-track EPs.

BONUS: Replay: a metal tribute to the history of video games by FamilyJules7X


How cool is this?! 39 game themes covered in a metal style.

Jules Conroy writes on his YouTube page

This medley was begun a week and a day before it was released. I made this during the same week as my last year of college finals […] Still the time restraint gave me one day for arranging, one day for drum programming, one day for doing all of the mixing and mastering and one day to edit this beast of a video. This was because recording all of the audio took 4 days of straight recording to finish.

While he is a little self-critical about certain aspects of the video, particularly wishing that he’d had more time to practice the green screen techniques, I think it’s brilliant and great, great fun.

List of songs

  1. 0:07 Pong
  2. 0:17 Gunfight
  3. 0:21 Space Invaders
  4. 0:30 Pac-man
  5. 0:37 Frogger
  6. 0:46 Dig Dug
  7. 1:01 Phozon
  8. 1:10 Tetris
  9. 1:34 Super Mario Bros
  10. 2:01 Legend of Zelda
  11. 2:32 Punch-Out!!
  12. 2:55 Super Mario Bros. 2 – Character Select
  13. 3:11 Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  14. 3:36 Super Mario World – Athletic Theme
  15. 4:04 Sonic the Hedgehog – Scrap Brain Zone
  16. 4:20 Street Fighter II – Vega’s Theme
  17. 4:45 Mortal Kombat
  18. 5:17 Star Fox
  19. 5:52 Donkey Kong Country – Gang-Plank Galleon
  20. 6:04 Donkey Kong Country 2 – Snakey Chantey
  21. 6:24 Pokémon – Gym
  22. 6:48 Goldeneye
  23. 7:26 Ocarina of Time – Intro
  24. 8:08 Medal of Honor
  25. 8:39 The Sims
  26. 9:10 Animal Crossing
  27. 9:42 Battlefield 1942
  28. 10:14 Wind Waker
  29. 10:39 World of Warcraft – Song of Elune
  30. 11:05 Civilization IV – Baba Yetu
  31. 11:41 Twilight Princess – Hyrule Field
  32. 12:29 Super Mario Galaxy – Gusty Garden Galaxy
  33. 12:54 Fallout 3
  34. 13:23 Braid – Downstream
  35. 13:43 Mass Effect 2 – Suicide Mission
  36. 14:11 Skyrim – Sons of Skyrim
  37. 14:41 Super Hexagon – Focus
  38. 15:00 Last of Us
  39. 15:21 Dark Souls II – Longing

Instruments used

  • Rhythm Guitars: Gibson Explorer
  • Clean Guitars: PRS SE Custom 7 String
  • Lead Guitars: Schecter Damien FR
  • Bass Guitar: Ibanez Soundgear SR405QM
  • Classical Guitar: Cordoba C7
  • Ocarina: STL Zelda Tenor
  • Drums: Toontrack Superior Drummer

Dub War — Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996)

Dub War — Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996)

Dub War — Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996)


Produced and engineered by Paul Schroeder. (Mostly) recorded at Rockfield Studios and mixed at Parr Street Studios. Released on Earache Records, 1996.


  • Benji Webbe (Vocals)
  • Jeff Rose (Guitar)
  • Richie Glover (Bass)
  • Martin “Ginge” Ford (Drums)


  1. Control
  2. Armchair Thriller
  3. Greedee
  4. Bassbat Bat
  5. One Chill
  6. Enemy Maker
  7. Million Dollar Love
  8. Silencer
  9. Cry Dignity
  10. Can’t Stop
  11. Prisoner
  12. Love Is
  13. Mission
  14. Universal Jam


I bumped into Kevin, a colleague of mine, the other day on my walk to work.

“I’ve discovered an amazing new genre of metal,” he said enthusiastically. “Reggae metal!”

“Skindred?” I asked.

“Yeah,” he said looking suddenly downcast. “How did you know?”

I expect that I must have come across Dub War at some point during the mid-1990s but they were never really on my radar until I saw singer Benji Webbe performing with his current band Skindred, supporting Soulfly at the Glasgow Garage in January 2006.

In my review of the gig I said that “the support band Skindred were surprisingly good […] and had us all bouncing to their unique brand of Ragga Punk Metal.” Surprising because I really don’t get reggae. But they were brilliant, and Benji was the perfect frontman who by the end of the gig had the crowd in the palm of his hand.

I went home and ordered their first album Babylon (2002), and that’s when I first made the connection between Skindred and Dub War. Until this project I had only two songs of theirs in my collection: the 1996 single “Enemy Maker” and its acoustic b-side “Peace Maker”.

Dub War were formed in Newport, south Wales in 1993 — the year the World Wide Web began to take off with the release of the Mosaic web browser; the year that I graduated from university. Nu metal was on the decline but Dub War took the best things from nu metal: particularly combining diverse music styles and made a sound that was quite uniquely theirs.

My copy of Wrong Side of Beautiful (1996) is actually a part of a 2-CD box set released in 2007 of Dub War’s two (and only) albums; the other being Pain (1995). Pendants may be interested to learn that there was a third album, released in 1998, but this was entirely of remixes. And a fourth album of demos, which you can read about on the Ask Earache blog.

I have to say, that having been playing this album all week (56 tracks played this week, according to, I love this album.

It was the kind of album that had me reaching for my bass guitar and playing along. The bass riffs just bounce along, particularly on songs like “Armchair Thriller” and the jazz-sounding intro to “Bassballbat”, which has a really woody bass sound.

Some tracks have a feel of the American rock/funk/hip hop band N*E*R*D about them. There is something about The Prodigy in their attitude. There is something about Faith No More in their variety. The intro to “Enemy Maker” reminds me of The Police.

There are elements of reggae, ragga, metal, punk, rock, dub, soul, jazz… This is a band whose influences you can hear in their music, but their music doesn’t sound like just one of them; if anything, it sounds like them all at once.

But it works!


I will definitely be listening to this album again… and I’ve still got Pain (1995) to review some time soon.

Review score: 95%


Here’s the promo video for “Enemy Maker”…

…and the B-side, the acoustic version called “Peace Maker”.